Lashburn Saskatchewan     |     (306) 285 3533

About Us


Lashburn’s history starts with the Barr Colonists, a group of English immigrants who arrived at Lloydminster in April, 1903.  Some of the Barr Colonists settled on homesteads east of Lloydminster in the Lashburn area.

In 1904, a group of settlers came from eastern Canada.  A post office and a store were opened by A. B. Klombies to which he gave the name of “Wirral (after Wirral in Cheshire, England).

The C.N.R. came through in 1905, and their chosen town site was three miles east of Wirral.  The railway officials named it Lashburn.  “Lash was for Z. A. Lash, the Canadian Northern Railway solicitor and “burn” was for a small creek nearby (in Scottish, a burn is a small creek).  Mr. Klombies moved the Wirral post office and store into the town site, and it became part of Lashburn.  Many settlers filed on homesteads in this area.  The Village of Lashburn was incorporated on December 8th, 1906 and became a Town on March 1st, 1979.

By 1911, the population of Lashburn had grown to 400 with nearly 50 trade merchants and professional men.  Most of these people had come from Ontario and the northern states of the United States.

After World War I and through the 1920’s, many people immigrated to the Lashburn area from the countries of the British Isles and other parts of Europe.

In November, 1929, an Immigration House was built one-half mile north of the village of Lashburn.  This was a joint undertaking of the railway company and the Federal Department of Immigration.  The house was used as a temporary home for any immigrant family who came to the district.  It meant that a family would have a place to live while finding or building a permanent home.

During the Depression Years of the 1930’s, many people from the dried-out areas of southern Saskatchewan moved north, and some of them settled in the Lashburn area.

Because the people coming from all these countries were pioneers in the Lashburn district, they developed a neighborhood spirit which enabled them to work together, helping one another wherever there was a need.

Lashburn is a vibrant and growing town, with friendly people.  It has small-town character and a sense of community yet it is close to Lloydminster and all the services it offers.  Lashburn is full of energy and excitement all year long

Town Office Hours:

Monday to Thursday     9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Friday     9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.



Mayor Steven Turnbull

Councillor Vaughn Bellin

Councillor William Hall

Councillor Leonard Lapierre

Councillor Laura Lea-Bowman

Councillor Kevin McNay

Councillor Catlin Poirier


Garth Rokosh

Nicole Jezowski

Randy Jezowski


Brad McKenzie


Cindy Broadbelt


Council Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month (Tuesday, if Monday is a holiday).

Lashburn Culture and Recreation Board Meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month.

Contact the Town Office if you are interested in sitting on any boards related to the town.